Belmont’s Michael Foley and CCA’s Craig Anthony are named Coaches of the Year

Published: 2022-11-18 23:47:50

The New Hampshire Soccer Coaches Association released its annual awards on Friday, with two area coaches receiving special recognition.

Belmont’s Michael Foley was named Division III Coach of the Year, while Concord Christian Academy’s Craig Anthony received the same award in D-IV.

Foley – who has been the head coach at Belmont for 23 years – helped the Raiders recover from a 3-11-1 season in 2021 by reaching the D-III semifinals with a 14-3-2 record.

Anthony – a sixth-year man at CCA – led the Kingsmen to their first championship in 29 years. Known for an aggressive offense and strong defense, Concord Christian was D-IV’s top seed with a 18-0-1 record, beating his opponents 112-3 in 19 games.

Anthony was also named the head coach of the New Hampshire Twin State team, a roster made up of the top seniors from all four NHIAA divisions to face Vermont’s All-Star Seniors in next summer’s Twin State Lions Cup.

Foley was named assistant coach, while Coe-Brown defender Ben Robinson, Merrimack Valley midfielders Gavin Wheeler and Lucas Godoi, and Concord Christian midfielder Austin Spurr were the named players from the region.

Concord Christian led the area’s boys’ soccer teams with five All-State and Honorable Mention selections while Belmont amassed four.

All area All-State and Honorable Mention selections are below.

First League

Award: Nicholas DiBuono of Concord (defense).

Department II

First team: Coe-Brown’s Ben Robinson (defense) and Merrimack Valley’s Gavin Wheeler (midfield).

Second team: Brady Kouchoukous from Coe-Brown (forward), Miles Lanier from John Stark (goalkeeper) and Andrew Baldwin (defense) and Lucas Godoi (midfield) from Merrimack Valley.

Award: Bows Luke Hartshorn (midfield) and Pembrokes Colby Pepka (midfield).

Department III

First team: Jacobb Bivens of Belmont (goalkeeper), Davis West of Kearsarge (defense) and Dylan Selby (forward) and Ayden Cushing of Winnisquam (midfield).

Second team: Belmont’s Owen Waldron (defense) and Liam Waldron (midfield), Bishop Brady’s Michael Thresher (defense) and Hillsboro-Deering’s Logan Miller (defense) and Griffin Cassidy (forward).

Award: Belmont’s William Riley (midfielder), Hopkinton’s Colby Boissy (goalkeeper) and Winnisquam’s Zach St Onge (forward).

Department IV

First team: Levi Campbell (defense) and Ethan Young (midfield) from Concord Christian.

Second team: Concord Christians Jaden Young (goalkeeper), Aidan Duffy (defense) and Austin Spurr (midfield).

Award: Pittsfield’s Parker Clark (forward).